Now vs. Then

Authorities locked down my daughter’s high school  today because a couple of kids mixed some chemicals and caused an explosion. Thankfully no one was hurt, but it got me thinking about how her high school experience differs from mine.

Now: Kids plot to blow up the school or shoot people.

Then: Kids planted vicious rumors about their enemies like, “George is gay” or “Stephanie wears granny panties.”

Now: Kid brings a manicure set to school. Principal gives a “ticket” and the kid is one piece of gum stuck under a desk from expulsion and public ridicule.

Schoolchildren eating hot school lunches made ...

School lunch, not to be confused with Skool Lunch (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Then: I used my pocket knife to cut the school lunch into pieces I could suck on and finally chew on my way home from school.

Now: Parent: “How was your day at school?” Kid: “Fine”

Then: Parent: “How was your day at school?” Kid: “Fine”

Maybe it’s not so different after all…

© 2012 by What I Desired to Say….

Custom Screenprinting available! No order too small/large!

Feel free to tell me what YOU wanted to say!

