What I DID Say

This post is one from a time I DID say what I was thinking to an unreasonable customer. Enjoy!

Jacksonville, FL, September 22, 2008 -- At the...

Caller: Why am I paying interest on a cash advance? Where did that come from?

Me: I’m not sure, sir. Let’s see if we can find out. May I place you on hold for a few minutes? It looks like I need to call and have old statements made available to me.

Caller: Sure

(pause, beautiful ads play while sporadically interrupted with annoying music.)

The United States government paid the Brazilia...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Me: OK sir, it looks like there was a $100 cash advance taken out on your card on January, 18th 2010.

Caller: OK yeah, I needed cash to buy some tickets from a friend. But seriously, it would have to be paid off by now, right?

Me: Actually, no, sir. Because of the different interest rates on purchases and cash advances and how payments you make are allocated to your balance, the cash advance is only paid off when the balance is paid of in full.

Caller: Are you FUCKING serious?! How much interest have I been charged on that $100?

Me: (knowing he would probably be asking, I had added it up beforehand) It appears to be $51.23, sir and it is increasing every month because the interest on that balance is not paid until the balance is paid in full as I mentioned before.

Caller: WHAT!? You have got to be kidding me! Well how can I change how the payment is applied?

Me: You cannot, sir. the payments are applied this way for all accounts and there is no way it can be changed for just one.

Caller: Well I want to talk to someone who can change this and I want to talk to them right now!

Creation of the Sun and Moon by Michelangelo, ...

Me: Alright sir, but I’m pretty sure God is just a tad busy. The hold time to speak with him might be excessive.

© 2012 by What I Desired to Say….

Custom Screenprinting available! No order too small/large!

4 thoughts on “What I DID Say

Feel free to tell me what YOU wanted to say!

