Why I Hate Boy Bands

Vocal group, Backstreet Boys became one of the...

Being that I have a girlfriend who is still obsessed with the Backstreet Boys & 2 teenage daughters, I suppose I needed to figured out WHY I hate these types of groups. I have found a couple of reasons. (Actual reasons hidden. Good luck finding them.)
I’m not them!
Back in those days, bands and artists had to put in the time and effort of perfecting multiple skills to become a national or worldwide band.
I’m not them!

Actor Brandon Jones

Now? If you look like you could be in an Abercrombie & Fitch ad and can somewhat carry a tune, you’re 90% of the way there. The R&A people are just trying to stuff their rosters with as many acts as possible, rather than developing a band and letting them grow into their destiny.
I’m not them!

Growing up, my dad listened to a lot of 50’s and 60’s rock and country, so I was raised to like guitars, drums and instrument players that could sing AND write their own music, or at least keep it hidden from the general public that someone else was writing their songs for them.
I’m not them!
Now? Most boy bands probably couldn’t even write a stanza of their own music if you had a gun to their head (hmm, there’s a comforting image.) They are just a part of the packaging, not the substance.
I’m not them!

2 X 2

And last, I was a big fan of Milli Vanilli. I’m not sure I can take that kind of disappointment again.

© 2012 by What I Desired to Say….

Custom Screenprinting available! No order too small/large.

2 thoughts on “Why I Hate Boy Bands

  1. I am with you, yet I find myself with tickets to attend the 2013 concert of the latest boy band One Direction. I am truly an amazing mother to think I will put myself through this torture for my 13 year old daughter. I am working on a plan to get my 20 year old niece to take my ticket and my daughter. If it works out I may be able to save myself, keep your fingers crossed for me. Otherwise someone better get me a REALLY good mothers day gift and nominate me for mother of the year.

  2. Well as we already know, some Boy Bands are just poster boys for girls to go gaga over. Others are actual entertainers that strive to write, produce, sing and/or dance for as long as possible.

    Maybe as a guy I’m missing that certain gene that makes girls go insane while they lose their minds & obsess over some dude as if he were actually the love of their life. I don’t know many guys that are fanatics for any performer.

Feel free to tell me what YOU wanted to say!

