Humorless – A Rant

Over the last couple of weeks I have been making an effort to be more sociable on the web by reading and commenting on other people’s blogs. For the most part, it has been enjoyable. However, there is one teensy-weensy complaint that I have. Some of you aren’t funny at all. At least from the one post of your blog here or there that I read. 

See, I try to read by topic because, let’s face it, when you’re happy and want to maintain it or if you’re feeling blue and want a lift the worst thing in the world is to read a blog post that isn’t remotely humorous, right? So I click on the Humor tag in my WordPress blog reader and allegedly, that stream is supposed to be chock-full of hilarious tidbits. Not so.

For example, this post, titled Puppies:

I thought it would be a fun Friday treat to give you guys a look into our home life. In this post you’ll find a link to the blog Sarabeth maintains about the three dogs we have living with us in our  loft. The purpose for her blog is so that her sister and brother-in-law can check in on their babies every now and then.

 

Last summer they moved across the Atlantic ocean to carry out missions work for our Lord. (For a little more on missions, read here.) They own two dachshunds, Roxy and Sydney, but they couldn’t take them along because they heard that the people group was hostile against dogs. So they left them in our care. Our dog Pixie was glad to have new roommates to play with (especially Sydney), and so this has been our life for the last ten months.

 

Enjoy. And please tell my wife what a wonderful blog she has: The Dachshunds

 

(Also, please don’t judge us for the poor quality photos. We’re trying to save up for a better camera to post better pictures for you all.)

That is the extent of the post and it is a wonderful post, yet why is ‘humor’ one of its tags? It contains no joke or anecdote that a reader from outside the inner sanctum of that family could possibly find funny. (I suspect that even the other members of this family would be searching in vain for the humor in this post as well.)

And now here I am, terribly annoyed enough to write a rant over someone’s tagging of their blog post. I’m sure it was an automatic thing or they just copied a list of tags from a similar post which may have had a joke or funny story, but it was not. As part of the self-titled Internet Police, I hereby cite you for Improper Tagging for which the minimum fine is 30 days of hard labor removing all tags from unfunny posts. The judge however, may have other ideas depending on your level of abuse. Good day!

© 2012 by What I Desired to Say….

Custom Screenprinting available! No order too small/large!

15 thoughts on “Humorless – A Rant

  1. lmfao

    People who tag “humor” are rarely funny.
    People who tag “funny” are usually sarcastically funny.
    People who tag “life” are usually kinda funny.
    People who tag “idiots” are always funny.

    This list could be endless so I will stop.

    p.s., can I tag my comment as “humor”?

  2. Everyone interprets things differently. I’ll find humor in things that a lot of people don’t. I can crack up at something and someone will say, “It’s not THAT funny!” Maybe some of the people who feel they are writing humor (myself included I guess) aren’t coming across to everyone. I may say something funny that no one else will get except one person.

    When Tiger Woods had that scandal a few years back, I posted on Face Book a video of April Stevens singing “Teach Me Tiger.” (It’s a very sexy, yet tongue-in-cheek humor type song). It went over everyone’s heads except for this one guy who thought it was hilarious. He reposted my joke — and no response.

    So, there you go …. go figure.

    • Hey, I get it. Some people don’t get me and my obscure humor and that’s fine. I know the scope of what is funny can be very broad and I can usually see if the person was trying to be funny, but quite often there is no attempt at humor and yet it is labeled as such.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. I am afraid to even leave a comment telling you “bravo” because I think I tagged my last post with humor and am not sure it will meet your high standards. :-)

  4. Agreed! Although my sense of humor tends to be more on the politically incorrect side. Dancing puppies and silly cats and that crazy thing some guys kid said are about as funny to me as old episodes of Seinfeld. But that Stork on the old Looney Tunes shows, staggering around hammered and delivering the wrong babies to the wrong places….well thats humor dammit. Ah God, I’m tetched.

Feel free to tell me what YOU wanted to say!